top of page

Introducing Your New 2018/19 Katy ISD School Board


May 21, 2018

By Jennifer Skelton

During tonight’s Katy Independent School District Work Study meeting, Susan Marie Gesoff and Dawn Champagne were welcomed as the newest members of the Katy ISD Board of Trustees. Gesoff, who will serve as trustee for Position 6 and Champagne, who will serve in Position 7, took the oath of office and were officially sworn in.

Dawn Champagne was sworn in taking the seat left by Charles Griffin when he chose not to run again. Susan Gesoff took the seat of Brian MIchalsky who also chose not to run for another term. Both Charles and Brian served two terms.

“This is a fabulous community with a school district that delivers outstanding results and entices thousands to settle and raise their families here,” said Susan Gesoff, Trustee for Position 6. “In order to continue to improve the ‘product’ the district delivers to its students, we must foster more open-minded, two-way, solution-oriented dialogue between educators, administrators, parents and community members,” added Gesoff.

“I believe that Katy ISD provides a wonderful, well-rounded education for our children. My aim is to keep all the wonderful parts of our district while simultaneously working on improving the parts that might need help, especially as our district continues to grow,” said Dawn Champagne, Trustee for Position 7. “No matter how good we are, we can always improve.” added Champagne.

In his exiting message as a board member Charles Griffin said to Dr. Hindt. "Thank you. You have been a phenomenal superintendent. I'm so glad that you came back home and you just knocked it out of the ballpark. I'm sorry that we weren't able to keep your family and you protected." He also praised many others in the administration and school board members.

After the two new board members were sworn in, the board went into closed session. Once they came back to open session, the following new board positions were accepted...all by a 7-0 vote.

2018/19 Katy ISD School Board

Courtney Doyle - President

Bill Lacy - Vice President

Ashley Vann - Secretary

Rebecca Fox - Member

George Scott - Member

Dawn Champagne - Member

Susan Gesoff - Member

The Katy ISD Board of Trustees is the governing body of the school district and the main advising group that oversees and shapes district policies. Individuals serving as board members are not employees of Katy ISD, yet they dedicate countless hours to lead an A+ school district.


bottom of page