top of page

Past and Present Katy ISD Athletes Inducted into the 2018 Hall of Honor


OCTOBER. 16, 2018

by Katy Magazine Editors

Photography provided by Katy ISD Athletic Hall of Honor

This past weekend, 51 individuals and 4 teams were inducted in the Katy ISD Athletic Hall of Honor's Class of 2018. The Inductees include various teams and individuals who were top standouts in Katy ISD athletic programs from the ‘60s through 2000s.

Individual Inductees

The individual inductees were presented on October 12 and 13 at either Legacy or Rhodes Stadiums during half time. The list of individuals included coaches, athletes, school namesakes, the Katy ISD superintendent Dr. Lance Hindt, and dozens of other athletes.

The alphabetical list of inductees is as follows:

​Roosevelt Alexander James Aston Ernest “Dink” Beakley Ja'Mel Branch Tina Boutelle Carter Gregory “Beau” Davidson Jannett Hirsch Dennison Jeff Dixon Lisa Klam Drews Paul Drobnitch Curtis Fagen Bubba Fife Mitch Fralick

Frank Fry Jeff Gotte Heather Gratzer Dwight Gross Mark Hall Kathy Townsend Hamilton Bill Haskett Dr. Lance Hindt A. J. House Brandon Houston Jacob Jones Jeffrey Joseph Jared Kaspar

Janet Koening Eric Konesheck Donnie Laurence, Sr ​John Lawrence Holly Lindloff Matkins Garland (Scooter) McMeans, Jr. Joel Moore Keith Mouton Matt Nesbitt Dennis Ray Phillips Derek Placke Celeste Maples Scearce Ronnie Scearce

Chris Sciba ​Parker Sheffy Janis Goynes Shipper Davy Smith Louis Thibodeaux John Triska Lee S. Tynes Dr. Cristin Vitek Wafer J.D. Williams Debbe Woods

Robbie Scroggins Yarbrough

Team Inductees

Four Teams were also inducted into the 2018 Hall of Honor. The teams range through the years


Katy High School 2000 Football State Champions


Taylor High School 2001 Men's Swimming & Diving State Champions


Taylor High School 2003 Men's Swimming & Diving State Champion


Taylor High School 2002 Tennis State Champions

How Inductees were Chosen

Nominations were reviewed by the Katy ISD Athletic Hall of Honor's Board and voted on by the Committee. According to the website, the purpose is to honor teams and individuals who contribute to athletics in the Katy Independent School District.

Katy ISD established the Athletic Hall of Honor as a way recognize the efforts and contributions of former student athletes, athletic teams, coaches and special merit individuals who have brought distinction, honor and excellence to themselves and to the District.

For more information on the Hall of Honor, visit


bottom of page